10 replies to this topic

#1 GuiGui

GuiGui

• Members
  • 7 posts
  • Interests:Yoga, Jiu-Jitsu, Chemistry

Posted 05 January 2014 - 11:11 PM

Hi everyone,

I was diagnosed with narcolepsy about a year ago. I recently joined this forum and this is my first time posting anything. Anyway, I'm pretty interested in the less-known effects and correlations regarding narcolepsy. For example, I've read that narcoleptics typically have a heightened sense of smell (http://en.wikipedia....wiki/Narcolepsy, under signs and symptoms), but I've also read the opposite (http://brain.oxfordj.../130/2/442.full). I've also read that there are certain personality traits associated with narcoleptics, including anxiety-neuroticism (http://www.sciencedi...191886981900878) and being guarded, stubborn, and sarcastic (https://groups.googl...psy/NiUT75UF9Fo). Does anyone know of other such phenomena associated with narcolepsy? Or know more about these? Or have personal experiences relating to them?

#2 Hank

Hank

• Members
  • 1,014 posts

Posted 05 January 2014 - 11:53 PM

Here's my take on the personality issue. This is genetic. Any personality patterns common among us is the result of the common struggles of living with chronic exhaustion. They are the result, not the cause.

Also, psychological testing is inherently biased in certain areas. For example- a test may look for depression by asking questions about sleep, since people who are depressed tend to sleep a lot. So, if we honestly answer the question "are you tired at the end of the day", we just scored a point for depression.

Also, there are certain situations that we know will not work well for us- like dimly lit lecture halls or movie theatres. Or for Cataplexy, belly-laughs or being the center of attention. So, avoiding some situations in order to manage our symptoms may be interpreted as avoiding because of anxiety.