Photo

Protection

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 flutterbye_xo

flutterbye_xo

• Members
  • 51 posts
  • Interests:Running, painting, reading, xbox, music, paintball...I want to dance.

Posted 29 December 2013 - 11:29 AM

If you're a healthcare professional (licensed by the state) and a person with narcolepsy and cataplexy is there any protection to prevent termination of employment? I know the ADA allows accommodations and I haven't asked for any. I want to be able to protect myself if I ever have a need. I know the people I interact with (family/friends/coworkers/colleagues) will never understand my situation like you. I was hoping to get some thoughts for those of you more experienced in the work force than I. Is it detrimental, in any way, to ask for accommodations? This forum has been very valuable to me and I always appreciate any feedback.

#2 jpsmith8488

jpsmith8488

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 29 December 2013 - 12:43 PM

I am a medical doctor (M.D.) with current licenses in four states and hospital privileges in two large metropolitan medical centers, and I have narcolepsy and cataplexy.  There is risk to failing to ask for an ADA reasonable accommodation from your employer: if your performance or your behavior does not meet the company expectations, you may be put on probation, reassigned to a less demanding and lower paying position within the company or fired.

Once your employer is on notice that you have a qualifying condition under the ADA, and narcolepsy certainly qualifies, then the employer must make reasonable accommodations to enable you to continue in your present position without retribution. In other words, if you require a 20 minute nap twice each day, then the  employer must incorporate that into your job and not penalize you for the "lost time" by not paying you for your periods of sleep.