• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 CreativeConfusion

CreativeConfusion

• Members
  • 12 posts
  • Interests:Sewing, dog training, all things artistic

Posted 02 September 2013 - 01:19 AM

I used to be a full time college student with a major in theatre and a minor in music. I grew up on dance and music as if it were my bread and butter. I started ballet when I was 3 years old, but had to quit after an injury in high school. I still loved ballet though, even if my pointe shoes didn't love me anymore. When I was diagnosed with N, we were in the middle of an opera production at my college. I had a small, unnamed part, but it was a step above the chorus, and that was wonderful for a music minor, plus I had two, short ballet solos in the production, and I was costuming the entire show. I was so excited I could barely stand it, despite the stress. It was going to be my first full opera production, and it was going to be my first time performing ballet in ages, not to mention my first time costuming an entire show on my own. I had been very open with my director with the process of my diagnosis and all of my symptoms, and perhaps that was my ultimate mistake. 4 days before the show was supposed to go up I was very ill, but I still managed to make it to rehearsal, and to get through it, despite the fact that I collapsed (cataplexy) backstage (not on stage, backstage) twice. The next day I was informed that I was being removed from the production. I got pulled 3 days before the show opened because my cataplexy made it unsafe for me to be on stage, I was told.