Photo

Anyone Mixed Adderall And Ritalin?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Chemist

Chemist

• Members
  • 306 posts
  • Interests:Chemistry, Medicine, Science, Computers, Traveling, Not Being Tired

Posted 29 August 2013 - 07:50 AM

Hey guys,

I'm new to the whole narcolepsy thing and I'm still trying to find what works best for me. I've read through many posts on here in regards to people's experiences with adderall and ritalin and I'm really amazed that people have such widely varying reactions to it. I study pharmacy and medicinal chemistry so I'm very familiar with what these drugs do in the body. Unfortunately, especially with psychotropic drugs, that information doesn't really tell you how any given individual will respond to treatment. I'm no exception to this, and I haven't responded to stimulants the way I thought I would.

Essentially, I respond very weakly to stimulants, with no significant negative effects, and only mild positive effects. I take a 15mg adderall in the morning and notice the cognitive effects for perhaps 1-3 hours after which I'm foggy again, after that time I notice only the bodily sensation (a kind of tightness) which is more associated with L-amphetamine. Unfortunately I can't take a second dose 4-6 hours because this, paradoxically, causes me to become even more fatigued and foggy than if I weren't to take anything at all. I can take a second dose some 10-12 hours later, but then it interferes with my sleep. So what am I to do? I need to be able to function for at least a part of the evening, I'm a student in a very intense program. My physician and I decided to try ritalin, but after several doses it's obvious that 10mg ritalin has exactly zero effect on me. Aside from a slight increase in heart rate I notice no change whatsoever.