Photo

Can You Please Tell Me Your Childs First Symptoms?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 squirrel!

squirrel!

• Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 23 August 2013 - 09:17 PM

Hi,

I'm sure this has been posted before.

I'm concerned about my 6 year old son. There is something "off" and I haven't put my finger on it yet. He's very bright, and funny and imaginative. But he struggles in school. He is daydreaming, lack of energy etc. I am a special ed teacher and although it looks like ADD on paper, I have this feeling it's not. At home he often says he is tired and yawns frequently but never naps. His sleep is HARD but fitful. He often has all of his blankets kicked off. the most concerning issue though, is I am worried he is getting the Hypnognic Hallucinations and possibly paralysis.. he is terrified every single night while falling asleep. There is one particular "skull shadow" that he "hears, smells and feels" while falling asleep. He comes running to me shaking and crying. It's terrifying. I heard somewhere that recurring dreams in children are cause for concern? is that true? he fears the same figure every night.

Also, it's worth noting he had his tonsils and adenoids out at age 2.5, no change in sleeping patterns.

I maybe wouldn't be looking at all of this so closely had it not been for my own personal struggle. I am in the process of getting diagnosed with Narcolepsy as well. Should hear final results Monday, but it's  pretty obvious. It's been years of many misdiagnosis and I am so ready to get started with treatment.

I have an apt with a pediatric sleep Dr, but it's a few weeks away. Does anyone have anything to add?

Thank you so much!!

#2 Hank

Hank

• Members
  • 1,012 posts

Posted 23 August 2013 - 10:22 PM