Doctors With Narcolepsy??

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 premednarc

premednarc

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 01:26 PM

I have scoured the internet looking for physicians, surgeons in particular, with narcolepsy and have been unsuccessful. I've always wanted to become a surgeon and was recently diagnosed with narcolepsy. I am a very determined person and have been able to push past this condition since HS and am just now receiving treatment with Xyrem and Provigil. I'm just wondering if any doctors with narcolepsy could give me some insight on how they made it through residency and all.

#2 jpsmith8488

jpsmith8488

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 03:07 PM

I am a medical doctor with narcolepsy and cataplexy and have been treated with Xyrem and Adderall for about one year. I believe that if your symptoms are reasonably well controlled on medical therapy, and you are able to take the occasional afternoon 20 minute nap, you should be able to do as well in medical school as if you did not have the disease.

Regarding a career in surgery, you can choose to pursue training in one of the subspecialties of surgery that has shorter operative times. By the time you are in a position to enter a surgery residency program (immediately following medical school) you will probably find that a substantial amount of surgery will be performed in regional centers of excellence using a combination of robotic techniques and micromanipulators as the surgeon watches the surgical field on a 3D video monitor.