• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 SleepyMo

SleepyMo

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 May 2013 - 09:18 AM

Hi,

I'm new to this board and I've been recently diagnosed with Narcolepsy.  However, I know I must have had it for more than 15 yrs.  I could go on and tell you ALL the struggles I've had, and the things that I have sacrified to accomodate my "N" but I want to avoid that and just reach out to you all to ask for some advice.  I'm at a point that I'm fed up with my Narcolepsy and how it hinders me.  I accept that I'm not "normal" and that I have to operate in a limit capacity. So, my question now, what can I do to help me manage my "N" to reach my goals.

I'm currently taking Nuvigil, and it doesn't seem to help much.  It worked at first but not i'm just getting headaches and I feel groggy and out of it.  As a result, I lower my dosage to a qtr of a 150mg pill.  It's not very effective in keeping me awake.  I'm still groggy and I need frequent naps.  I'm a cpa candidate currently studying for FAR.  I'm struggling to study and to stay awake.  The test is very demanding.  According to my doctor, he wants me to structure a schedule to sleep.  Let's be honest, the majority of cpa candidate who are "normal" don't get that much sleep when studying, and having narcolepsy makes it hard to study and pass the exam within the require deadline of 18 months! I have trouble focusing, staying awake, and remembering facts.  Since starting this cpa journey, my capacity level has been going downhill, and my symptions of "N" has gotten worse.  I'm starting to wonder if i have cataplexy, because I could be in a train standing and fall asleep.  My knees have buckled a few times and I was lucky to catch myself before I fell on the floor.  I even started hallucinating, I could be sitting and writing, then nodd off for two secs and see my pen disappear and reappear.