Photo

Insurance Categorizing Narcolepsy Meds As "mental Health"

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 CarlaWilS

CarlaWilS

• Members
  • 30 posts
  • Interests:Food! Music, singing, writing, movies, reading, baking, chocolate, cookies, flaky pastries, bread. Just food. Lots of food. Mainly sweets.

Posted 02 May 2013 - 09:30 AM

Hi all! I'm new to NN and Narcolepsy in general. I was diagnosed in March and it really blindsided me. I didn't (and still don't) know much about N, but I never in my wildest dreams would have thought it was causing my extreme sleepiness.

In addition to this shock, I'm having a lot of trouble getting any prescription covered by my insurance. I'm covered by Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield in Indiana and my contract has a benefit exclusion that prohibits coverage for anything they deem "mental health." Conveniently for them, they have categorized literally every medication that is commonly prescribed for Narcolepsy under the umbrella of "mental health." In my opinion, this is severely inaccurate, but that's a discussion for another post entirely. They won't even cover generic Methylphenidate or Modafinil, which are both listed as Tier 1 drugs in my formulary. I find it funny that they covered more than half of my sleep test, but once I'm actually diagnosed with something and need treatment, they pull coverage.