Photo

Please Help! What Can I Do Regarding Ada And Fmla?

ADA FMLA Work

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 exanimo

exanimo

• Members
  • 217 posts
  • Interests:Snowboarding, reading, writing, poetry, hiking, camping, college, art, anthropology, history, biology, anatomy &physiology...

Posted 21 April 2013 - 05:44 PM

I realize this is VERY long! So I have bolded the actual questions in this post. 

So I work as a respite care and chore services provider with a local agency. My agency has many offices throughout the state, the main one being about 45 minutes away. I work with the branch office that is in my town. My supervisor is there, and she is the one I have the most contact with. I have met my ‘main boss – the care coordinator for all branches’ a few times.

This Friday I attended a training (we have to have 10 hours of training for each fiscal year) and my main boss was there. Everything went fine, she asked to talk to me after the training. So I sat down with her, as well as my immediate supervisor. I received a disciplinary action for "not showing up for scheduled hours with a client" and "not calling my supervisor or the client/ family in the case of not making it to the scheduled hours".  So I completely understand why I received this, and understand that it is unacceptable behavior. Especially calling to let either my supervisor (who can then call the client/family) to let them know that I won't be able to make the hours. Basically, if it happens again, I will be terminated.

Background: