All About Cataplexy

Cataplexy

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 exanimo

exanimo

• Members
  • 216 posts
  • Interests:Snowboarding, reading, writing, poetry, hiking, camping, college, art, anthropology, history, biology, anatomy &physiology...

Posted 17 April 2013 - 03:29 PM

I have seen a lot of posts regarding questions about cataplexy; what it is, what it isn't, could I have it, etc.
So my goal in this topic is to help those with these questions. I am not a doctor, and I can only speak of my experiences and give resources i have personally encountered. So I would love if others would add to this thread so that we can help others who may have questions about it.

So, what is Cataplexy?

"Cataplexy is an abrupt but temporary loss of muscle tone or strength that results in the inability to move and always occurs during wakefulness. Symptoms of excessive daytime sleepiness may be present for years before symptoms of cataplexy develop. About two thirds of patients with Narcolepsy have Cataplexy. The following events may be triggers for cataplexy:

• Sudden intense emotion, such as laughter or anger (most common trigger - and most commonly defined trigger)
  • A heavy meal
  • Stress