Struggling With What I Believe May Be The Big N

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 MeanJeanSoSleepy

MeanJeanSoSleepy

• Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:24 PM

Hello all!! While I may be new here, I have been following this board for about a month now. I am so grateful to have a website like this, in a world where Narcolepsy is not well understood or talked about. I need some help and advice in regards to a battle I have been fighting for 12 years now. I apologize in advance as this is kind of a long story...

Since I was about thirteen years old, I have struggled with excessive fatigue and random sleep attacks. I have had friends whom would get mad at me, because I would always end up falling asleep on them with no warning. Movies, television shows, and sometimes conversations, have always been my struggling point, as I have always had this overwhelming urge to fall asleep for which I cannot control. I, along with my friends, always chalked it up to my busy schedule causing me to be so extremely tired and fatigued.

As I have gotten older, my sleeping episodes (as I call them) have happened not only during the usual movie or television show, but at school and in the work place. I have had no problems with falling asleep at my current job, as I am constantly running around and have no time to sit or be sedentary. My prior job however, I was a dental assistant, and I would always fall asleep sitting up in the chair, while I was assisting for long procedures on patients. When I was in college, I failed my film class, as I would always fall asleep during the movies in class. I learned, through my experiences in school, to always sit in the back of the classroom, as most classes I would end up falling asleep. I have also fallen asleep at loud bars while sitting up, and during social outings with friends. I do have an occasional good day, however I notice that my sleep episodes happen more frequently if I’m busy or stressed out.