23 replies to this topic

#1 Duck Master AJ

Duck Master AJ

• Members
  • 18 posts
  • Interests:Chemistry

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:02 PM

Hi everybody!

My name is AJ. I’m sure this happens all the time, but I suspect that I’m suffering from some sort of sleep disorder and I was hoping for some outside opinions. Here’s my story:

I’m a 21-year-old female and a junior at a small, private, four-year college where I’m studying biochemistry. Ever since I was 12 or 13, I have been falling asleep whenever I sit down and am forced into a passive role (listening/taking notes in class, watching movies, reading/studying, etc.), regardless of the amount of sleep I get. I am naturally hyperactive – I was diagnosed with ADHD, combined type after I had to repeat kindergarten due to an inability to sit still, follow directions, and stop talking – so I’m not usually overly tired if I’m moving, but once I sit down, I become exceedingly groggy and will fall asleep anywhere, in nearly any position, if I’m not actively talking or eating.

I’m a very good student and have always had high marks despite sleeping through nearly every single class period in high school. However, it became more difficult to maintain that level of success once I got to college because the classes moved at a much faster pace – I needed to be able to stay awake during the lectures. I assumed that it was just a symptom of my ADHD and finally consented to medication (up until that point I had resisted, disliking the idea of having to take a pill every day). I was put on Adderall last fall and it worked beautifully. I was alert, attentive, and succeeding once again.