• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 myriah224

myriah224

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 07:11 PM

Hello!

I am new to this. My son is almost 10 and I beleive has had symptoms of narcoplepsy all his life. As a baby I thought he was just a great sleeper. It was not until he started school that a problem was noticed. In second grade the naps and rest time at school stopped and that is when the complaints started. The teachers would send notes home almost every day saying my son was alseep in their class AGAIN. After many talks and conferences and test the doctor said he needed his tonsils and adenoids removed. No change in his sleeping during the day. I finally asked for a sleep study and he was diagnosed with Narcolepsy without Cataplexy. The neurologist prescribed Concerta 18mg extended release tabs.

My concern is that I have no idea what time to give it to him. I have read where people take short naps during the day and other things to help. I do not want to just give him this medicine without trying some other options. Of course you read the side affects and it just makes you not want to give him the medicine. But he needs help. Maybe I am in denial that he needs medicine and this may be something that MOMMY can not fix! I would like some input from other people that can remember how this was in the beginning.

#2 DeathRabbit

DeathRabbit

• Members
  • 1,102 posts
  • Interests:Music, video games, exercise, hookah, not feeling like crap

Posted 30 October 2012 - 10:10 AM

More important than naps, IMHO, is to standardize his sleep times. Try to figure out what time he needs to rest and for how long, in order to feel his best, then keep him to that pretty religiously. He's probably going to need the stimulants, though. Behavioral modification can only do so much.

#3 tjunderw

tjunderw

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 08:37 PM

Hi Myriah,