• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Rgeorgie22

Rgeorgie22

• Members
  • 3 posts
  • Interests:Networking, learning, sports, photography, traveling

Posted 31 March 2012 - 05:48 PM

Hi! My name is Rachel and I am a student at Southwestern University in Georgetown, TX. I am 26 and was diagnosed with narcolepsy with mild cataplexy in fall of 2007 and have been on the roller coaster myself since 2004. I am doing a project and research paper for my Survey of Exceptionalities course over narcolepsy in the education system and the current laws and information around this. This includes accommodations offered by the school, the amount of knowledge of educators on this disability and what needs to change. I am looking for information related to the legal aspects of this and the process it took to get this for yourself or your child, the accommodations received and if it is helpful or not, information if you are an educator in EC-12th grade and your experience with school's policies, what narcolepsy is listed under or classified as if anything in the education arena etc. HELP! I am having a hard time finding information regarding this because it isn't even listed in my book which is problematic enough to me. Also, I would like to know how other people function and their experiences in school and fighting through this. Thank you soooo much! Cheers!

#2 Delta

Delta

• Members
  • 21 posts
  • Interests:Reading, Writing, Teaching, Family

Posted 28 April 2012 - 06:57 PM