Staying Awake To Study/work

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 poolpah

poolpah

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 March 2012 - 01:29 PM

Hi everyone, I'm a 27 year old PWN and I need your help and advice!!

I have a masters degree in English and always loved to read, but since my symptoms started getting worse the past few years (I was diagnosed 2 years ago, have had symptoms since about 2005) I find I can't even read my favorite authors without nodding off 2 sentences in.

The problem is: My job is extremely stressful, which I think is a main cause of the symptoms being so bad. My bosses don't understand and are not sympathetic to me at all. One even "joked" that if I took a nap that I'd be fired! (very small company - less than 15 people, does not qualify for ADA)

I'm desperately trying to find another job and to learn some new skill sets to somewhat shift my direction in my career, but every time I try to do this, I get so exhausted, fall asleep, then I get frustrated, which makes me more tired. Then I just can't seem to get back into it for the rest of the day.

Does anyone have any advice on staying awake for this, or how to re-motivate to go back at the search once the exhaustion isn't so severe? I would really appreciate it.

#2 tdmom

tdmom

• Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 07 March 2012 - 09:48 PM

What are you on for medications? What is your current schedule and is it flexible at all? What about breaks and lunch time. just trying to get a sense of things.

Hi everyone, I'm a 27 year old PWN and I need your help and advice!!

I have a masters degree in English and always loved to read, but since my symptoms started getting worse the past few years (I was diagnosed 2 years ago, have had symptoms since about 2005) I find I can't even read my favorite authors without nodding off 2 sentences in.