Getting Pregnant With N

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 sarahsleeps

sarahsleeps

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 August 2011 - 12:06 PM

I have narcolepsy and my husband and I are ready to start a family together. Currently, I take Xyrem and Nuvigil but my doctor said I would have to be off all narcolepsy medicine for the first 8 weeks of preganancy. He said after 8 weeks I could start the Xyrem again if I needed to but I would not be able to be on Nuvigil again until after the baby was born. My husband would rather I stay off all of the medicine during the entire pregnancy. I am a teacher and the thought of being off my medication while working and being pregnant scares me. When I am off my medicine I am asleep all of the time. Has anyone out there gone through a preganancy without any medicine - is it doable? Did anyone have a child and stay on Xyrem during the preganancy? Any help or advice would be appreciated. Posted Image

#2 narcshark

narcshark

• Members
  • 84 posts
  • Interests:Being awake

Posted 08 August 2011 - 05:25 PM

I have narcolepsy and my husband and I are ready to start a family together. Currently, I take Xyrem and Nuvigil but my doctor said I would have to be off all narcolepsy medicine for the first 8 weeks of preganancy. He said after 8 weeks I could start the Xyrem again if I needed to but I would not be able to be on Nuvigil again until after the baby was born. My husband would rather I stay off all of the medicine during the entire pregnancy. I am a teacher and the thought of being off my medication while working and being pregnant scares me. When I am off my medicine I am asleep all of the time. Has anyone out there gone through a preganancy without any medicine - is it doable? Did anyone have a child and stay on Xyrem during the preganancy? Any help or advice would be appreciated. Posted Image