Ideas Needed - Feeling Lost

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 sleepyinHR

sleepyinHR

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 10:05 AM

I'm new to this forum, and hope it can provide some needed advice and support. I've struggled with Hypersomnia/Narcolepsy my whole life. I was diagnosed in college which was about 13 years ago. My college degree is in Human Resources and I have worked as an HR Manager for 6 years.

The problem is as an HR Manager I am expected to enforce the rules and have disciplinary meetings when employees are tardy. Of course I struggle with this myself and am tardy frequently. My employers (2 while an HR Manager) don't understand. At first they are willing to work with me some, but ultimately it affects everything. They say I need to set a good example in order to discipline employees. It also affects my reviews and ability for raises. But the biggest issue is the constant need for apologies and excuses. I find it hard to spend most of my day sitting quietly at my desk working with no interaction with others. It has caused me to consider a change in careers because I am so miserable. I do well with conflict resolution and research and would be willing to try something else. The problem is I don’t know what direction I should look at. I worked at a vet’s office during college and love working with animals but of course need medical insurance and most vet offices cannot provide that. Being more active during the day helps me tremendously.

Does anyone have any ideas/suggestions how I can use my HR skills in a different way that would be more fitting to a Narcolepsy lifestyle? I desperately need more flexibility and understanding. I’m tired of feeling like I’m always “in trouble”.

#2 Enginerd

Enginerd

• Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 03 June 2011 - 12:09 AM