Photo

I Am A Racing Driver.. Yeah I Know Right?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Wedge

Wedge

• Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 11 May 2010 - 10:03 AM

Hey everyone,

I noticed that driving is quite a challenge for most of the narcoleptic community. I am not sure if it is the constant noise or just boring "Sameness" that pulls us in to this mode of repetition and sleep. I rarely have problems with sleeping while driving and i think i may know why. I race a mazda mx-5 in the Sport Car Club of America and have never felt tired at high speeds and taking my car through hairpin turns! I guess constant adrenaline is the answer!

All jokes aside i actually think that i am focusing more than the average person when i drive, which is largely due to my amateur racing career. I pay attention to detailed things like tire noise and small changes in weight transfer. Since i am so focused i never really think about getting tired or never experience it. If anyone is interested i could post a write up on here on the various things you could stretch your awareness of that may help combat the constant and sleep inducing repetition of driving. The added plus is that it can make you a more aware and safe driver in the long run as well! Let me know and thanks for hearing me out. I am not sure if it will help but it works for me.

And if any of you are interested in racing and have always been worried about Narcolepsy (and get an ok from your doctor!)... feel free to PM me.

#2 schlepp

schlepp

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 October 2010 - 07:39 AM

Hey everyone,