• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 oldnewby

oldnewby

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 March 2010 - 10:13 AM

Hello All,

I was diagnosed with sleep apnea Feb, 09. Looking back I remember the tech asking "Are we going to do a MSLT". It wasn't done at that time. Origanally my quest for treatment started out with a psychologist. I was dx with depression, anxiety, and my favorite bipolar. I am a 40 year old nurse and mother of three, nevertheless, I have always known I had some sort of mental disorder. I willingly acceted the dx and started on a handful of medication. One of the meds added was lamictal and I found myself waking up short of air. I was scheduled for a sleep study and put on CPAP. This is where I have been for the past twelve month; no psych meds but on nuvigil 250mg a day. I was told by the pulmonogist to only take it when I was going to be driving and thats what I did. What brought me back into the sleep lab was my script had ran out, even though I had two refills left. The sleep lab (which is owned by the hospital where I work) is under the direction of a new doctor). Man I really hated to go back and ask for "drugs". Much to my surprise this new doctor reviewed the results of my prior sleep study and was concerned that I may also have narcolepsy. I repeated the sleep study with the MSLT three days ago. I have not been back for my follow up appt but the Respiratory therapist who did the MSLT said although I had a good nights sleep (with the CPAP) I still went into REM on 4 of the 5 naps I took. This is when I found this site. I don't know what if any changes will be made in my treatment but it is such a relief to finally start putting the peices together. Who knew, I'm not crazy and the auditory hullicinations finally have a rational. I have so many questions and concerns. I work in surgery/ recovery room and the beauty of this job is that thing are so hectic that I can keep my mind stimulated. I am concerned about telling my boss. I