william 1

Meds And A Cdl

6 posts in this topic

I was a truck driver for 15 years. I have had a different job for a year and a half. I wanted to keep the option open to go back to driving truck if I had to. beside it is good money even though the life style sucks. My question is this can I still drive a truck while on newvigal and xyrem? I have tryed to find out answers but I don't get anywhere. I was hoping that someone out there may have had experince with this.

Hi, I do know that xyrem will make you fall asleep so you cant drive while on that! it does not mean that while you are sleeping you cant take xyrem - but be careful if you sleep in your truck - of cource what do I know of sleeping in a truck? it most likely is safe -- as far as Provigil and Nuvigil are concerned, they are daytime meds and I have not heard of anyone taking these and then they were denied driving of any sort - some states will take your license away once they know you have Narcolepsy - no matter what meds you are on - so I would guess that you should check your state's DMV site and find out if there are rules concerning sleep disorders and getting your license to drive a truck -- this is my 2 cents!

I don't know much about trucking but now I'm curious. When you use to work as a trucker, did your company have policies about sleeping, hours driving, etc?

I was a truck driver for 15 years. I have had a different job for a year and a half. I wanted to keep the option open to go back to driving truck if I had to. beside it is good money even though the life style sucks. My question is this can I still drive a truck while on newvigal and xyrem? I have tryed to find out answers but I don't get anywhere. I was hoping that someone out there may have had experince with this.