27... And Finally An Answer

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Sera Bishop

Sera Bishop

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 August 2009 - 10:36 PM

I turned 27 a month ago. I had a sleep study last night. Unofficially, the tech told me it's pretty likely I have narcolepsy, and he's the one who scores the tests. I am experiencing a torrent of emotion... relief (finally have an answer), frustration (with the people who've made me skeptical of my own motivations/laziness/abilities), proud all over again (that I graduated a year ago without proper treatment, though it near killed me!). Emotional, as can be expected. I take Provigil, but not regularly -- I just can't afford it. I also take Effexor for depression that I've experienced since about 13 (very controlled at this point). Just looking to find people that have been here before... I know I'll survive and find a way to manage... but I'm still so emotionally exhausted from it all....

#2 Toph4er

Toph4er

• Members
  • 139 posts
  • Interests:Narcolepsy, chemistry, soccer, video games, sleeping

Posted 29 August 2009 - 12:12 AM

Well Sera, I don't know that I can really help you, but as a college student now myself, it is inspiring to hear that you were able to make it, especially as I am now choosing to forgo my meds. Hopefully the diagnosis, if it is confirmed, will help you out, you never completely escape the stigma, but it does let you cope a little better I think.

Chris"Toph4er"

#3 Irishhh

Irishhh

• Members
  • 178 posts

Posted 29 August 2009 - 12:17 AM