North Carolina Law (Out Of State)

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 drago

drago

• Members
  • 225 posts

Posted 26 August 2009 - 01:50 AM

I'm becoming incredibly frustrated not by the law, but the complete and utter lack of any resources by which to find it. I am a registered & licensed driver in Connecticut. I lived in Maine (where I was diagnosed with narcolepsy) and am now living in Alaska. I'll be living in North Carolina for nine months starting November. I have heard NC has very restrictive laws regarding narcolepsy, including the lack of reporting the diagnosis to the DMV considered "DWI" if it is discovered. (?!)

However, I'm a temporary resident... And I have not found one lick of information on the DMV website for NC, nor anywhere else. I found some Google Book results that said NC requires "the patient be symptom free for a year." However, it does not qualify which "symptoms" you are free of. EDS? Sleep Attacks? What about if I only experience symptom when I can't take my medication? (EG: When I had food poisoning.)

I am very frustrated with the lack of resources I am finding, and I am certain that me not knowing this information will not be a mitigating factor if I experience issues in North Carolina.

If it's on a case-by-case basis, do drivers who are licensed out of state have to report to NC's DMV? Would they accept a report from an out-of-state sleep doctor?

...and I heard CT's Laws are strict, too, but I can't find any information, either! Why isn't there a website with a chart with this information on it????

drago

#2 eversleepy

eversleepy

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 October 2009 - 06:23 PM