Work And The Bosses

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ulooktired

ulooktired

• Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 11 April 2009 - 10:46 PM

I am working too much, and I am unable to take my xyrem once a week and one weekend a month because I have to do call ( I'm a nurse). I feel so stuck because I have a job I like and there are not any other similiar job possibilities where i live. The company I work for has said that the nurses have to work Monday through Friday. The best I could get would be to work less each day, like maybe 32 hours a week (can't afford to loose insurance), but it would have to be Mon-Friday regardless. I'm too chicken *BEEP* to ask for this because it would mean that someone else already working too hard would have to take care of my clients from say 2 pm -5pm when we go to just the on call. Are you following me, I'm doing pretty bad today without taking my xyrem last night provigil only helps for 2 hours or so for me. I don't know how best to ask for this, and my supervisor has already done so much for me, for example I do my one night of call on Friday night and so i do one less call than everyone else because when you do the weekend it's FRiday thrue Monday am. The work is very emotional (but I love it) and it requires tons of multitasking and there's a lot of stress so my cataplexy is hard to manage. I just can't work this much and take care of myself, and I also have a 18 month old. Unfortunately he sees me mostly in a horizontal position! I also have to work to support my family. I drive 50 miles a day on average sometimes much more, and it's only recently that I have been able to stay alert, thanks to xyrem. Any ideas? Should I just demand it? I hope this makes sense.

#2 Lais02

Lais02

• Members
  • 295 posts

Posted 12 April 2009 - 02:41 PM

First of all... I have no idea or experience with the work + N thing... but her's what I think anyways