Photo

Do Narcoleptics Develop Cataplexy Later?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 drago

drago

• Members
  • 230 posts

Posted 02 January 2009 - 01:28 AM

I have had sleep paralysis since I was 3. I found out what it was called when I was 16.

I was diagnosed with narcolepsy when I was 22. I believe I have had it since I was around 21.

Is it possible to develop cataplexy later on? Or, is it something you generally have when you are diagnosed with narcolepsy?

Also, when my legs/arms fall asleep, it is incredibly painful when they re-awake. My friends think I am really weird when I am in pain when my legs wake up - one friend said "you look like an old person with a long-problematic knee injury" when I tried to get up with one of my legs falling asleep. Is this related?

Thanks,
drago

#2 Sam.Toombs

Sam.Toombs

• Members
  • 30 posts
  • Interests:I am currently studying International Criminology at Sheffield University here in the UK and however dull that may sound i actually do enjoy it.<br /><br />I was diagnosed with Narcolepsy/Cataplexy when i was about 19 and i do appreciate the friendships across the globe that this has brought me.<br /><br /><br /><br />

Posted 03 January 2009 - 04:48 AM

hi,

As far as the pain goes - i get that as well - i don't think it would be much of a leap to suggest that it is related as there are lots of things in Narcolepsy that although are not a primary effect of the condition - they happen anyway.

as for the cataplexy - i dont think there is any answer - some people see their narcolepsy change for years - i know that i didn't have sleep paralysis when i was younger but do now so some times things can change. but some people just never get any cataplexy - does not mean that their narcolepsy is something else - it just means you don't get cataplexy.

i don't know if that makes you feel much better though

Sam

#3 ikon0304

ikon0304

• Members
  • 12 posts
  • Interests:being awake