• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 drago

drago

• Members
  • 226 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 03:05 PM

Hi There:
So I graduated college May 2008. I took a year off and did an internship to ensure I wanted to pursue Theatre as a career. (I had also majored in computer science.)

Around November, I found out I had Narcolepsy. I had had sleep paralysis episodes since I was 3, and when I found out what they were changed my habits so I could sleep better - and now, I'm stuck with this whole new thing.

The trouble is, I'm interested in Directing, which is easier to break into with an MFA program. I've heard the first year of narcolepsy can be rough - but also that there can be a decline in productivity over the first ten years or so. I'm not sure if this is true.

However, I am concerned about MFA programs. I don't mind working long hours in the theatre - that doesn't seem to be a problem (10-11+ hours). BUT, if I need to work long hours in the theatre, the classroom, THEN read and do homework? I'm not sure. I am also concerned that if I wait too long, my abilities will decline with the rise of resistance to my meds.

Does anyone have any advice on this?

Thanks,
drago

#2 dogdreams

dogdreams

• Members
  • 494 posts
  • Interests:Gaming, science, Halloween, music (am I being too generic??)

Posted 01 January 2009 - 10:08 PM

Well, everyone will have a different take on this, but here's mine: Do what you love and don't let N get in the way of achieving your goals. Yeah yeah, I know, easier said than done. But in my life, I've found that if I'm pursuing a goal I'm really driven toward, I'm able to overcome a lot of my N in the process.