Parents!!!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Lais02

Lais02

• Members
  • 295 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 09:35 PM

I need to vent, so I appologize in advance.

My mother just told me that maybe the whole problem is that school is just too hard for me. She said my major is too difficult for me, and I either need tutoring or to drop out of school. She also said that I must not want to finnish or I would try harder to be awake!

angry.gif

I've been diagnosed for a year now. 2 of my siblings have also been diagnosed with N since then. Why can't my parents realize it is a real thing.

I LOVE my major, and it's not that it's too difficult to do the work. The problem is being awake to either be in class or study. For instance I have an extremely difficult time waking up, so the 8 am classes are very challenging for me to get to ON TIME. If I'm 5 mins late, I'm thrilled that I've made it to class that day. If I'm 15 mins late, I'm still thrilled I made it to class. If I'm 30 mins late, again... I'm happy I've made it. ANYTIME I'm late I HATE being looked at as a slacker who doesn't care. That's what my profs think which is crazy, but they won't take the time to understand or even acknowledge that N exists in my life.

Last fall semester I had just started on Provigil and my world was turned right side up again. I was AWAKE! I took 16 credits and tutored other college students in a variety of subjects. I got all A's and B's.

At some point in about January the Provigil wasn't doing anything anymore.

Last spring semester I did not work at all. I took 12 credits. I failed all my courses.

So why is it so difficult for my parents to even see there is something going on beyond my comtrol. I didn't ask for N, and I haven't found a solution for it lol.

I just wish people, or at least my parents would try to understand rather that saying things like:
"You're just lazy"
"Maybe school isn't for you"