A Narcolepsy Career Path

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 dragonfly26

dragonfly26

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 02:00 AM

I graduated in 2003 with a criminal justice certificate. I was only at the beginning of a five year nightmare. Cataplexy attacks were not yet regular and my eds was of course..... Depressed, laziness, you know everyone has a diagnoses. After taking the journey alone to a private sleep clinic and twelve hundred Dallas later I was diagnosed April 2007 with Cataplexy/ Narcolepsy. I will not forget the doctors words. " I have no doubt. You have Narcolepsy." So I sit here one year later wondering why I still can't figure things out. Medicated cataplexy is some what controlled. EDS is guaranteed morning noon and night. I lose facial Musial tone in any emotional change and all Musial tone when excited or nervous mostly laughter. So what now would I do if I moved on to my diploma? I have been struggling wondering what career path is possible. I am tired of felling like a burden to society. As a single mother how do I balance a career and find the time to be a wake with my children? It feels like on or the other. Can anyone give me advice or encouragement I feel Depression is a narcolepsy side effect.

Thank you everyone

#2 greatbig47

greatbig47

www.newrolemodels.com

• Members
  • 553 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 03:41 AM

QUOTE (dragonfly26 @ Aug 24 2008, 03:00 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>