Photo

I'm A Teacher In An Unfriendly Environment...what To Do?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 narcoleptic_deaf_teacher

narcoleptic_deaf_teacher

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 July 2008 - 07:12 PM

I didn't have problems as a teacher, until I moved to this little hick town in north florida. Before, actually before I was even diagnosed, my fellow teachers knew that I was a little different. However, we were a team, and close.

At meetings, it wouldn't take 10 minutes before I was out like a light. BUT, because I wasn't really asleep, I could remember EVERYTHING that happened at the meeting. I also remember falling asleep between two spelling words when giving a spelling test. My kids were so used to me, that they just gently woke me up, and didn't think anything of it.

When we had free reading time in the hallway (I was on the third floor, which was never visited....so I didn't get caught by any bosses) It wouldn't take any time at all before I was asleep. the kids were great. The other teachers would throw balls of paper at me. It was just a big "funny-ha-ha". I was going through a divorce at the time, so we just marked it up as my response to that stress.

When things would get really bad, I would bring my class into another teachers room, and sleep in her closet.

I have no idea how I lived through the drive to school and back....I feel asleep constantly.

Then, I moved here to North Florida, and my time in hell began.
I'm not only narcoleptic, I'm also profoundly hearing empaired. I came to the county hired to be a school based technology coordinator, and was very good at what I did. It was active, and moving around all the time, did help keep me awake. i didn't know even yet, that I had narcolepsy.