Photo

Returned To Work After Medical Leave

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 shallow_water

shallow_water

• Members
  • 75 posts
  • Interests:The lights of my life are God,my husband, my sons and of course my dog jake!

Posted 08 May 2008 - 07:17 PM

I returned to work after short term disability and am being watched like a hawk! I work as a secretary in medical records. I have worked for this company for more than 2yrs and since I have come back to work i feel as iff my bosses are constantly checking on me.

Before I left for leave I posted in my cubicle information on Narcolepsy from symptoms to effects on life in general so that others would be able to read it instead of me repeating the same thing over and over. This was hanging in there for 4 mths and the day I returned I was told it was not appropriate and it was taken down and put in a drawer. I felt crushed as if what I experience on a daily basis isn't important- Did it really matter since it was in my personal space?

The next day I had a bad sleep attack so I walked outside and briskly walked around the parking lot then went back to my desk and worked standing up until the excrutiating sleepiness faded. I was watched the last 2 hrs of the day by my boss walking by my desk 15 times.

Day three I was extremely exhausted - I went to bed late due to my DS's sports game, in order to be to work on time I wore jeans instead of dress pants as I did not have time to iron or put them in the dryer for a minute. I was told that jeans are for fridays. I have worn jeans to work at least 2-3 days a week before my leave. I replied "ok" and left it at that only to realize 5 min. later my co-worker also had jeans on but nothing was said to him.