Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Sleepycyn

On the road to diagnosis

12 posts in this topic

Hello. I'm new to all of this and I am still working on getting a diagnosis. Unfortunately our current sleep doc is just a locum and I can't stand him. The doc I really like will be back the end of July so until then I have to struggle. 

A little history... I suddenly started getting super sleepy summer 2012. After some pushing it was found I needed cpap and oxygen at night for mixed sleep apnea. Despite great therapy, I continued to be very sleepy and was getting worse. Spring 2014 my pcp, who I worked for, told me I either had to start taking modafinil or get suspended from my job due to my severe sleepiness, she said I was going to hurt someone.. I gave in and started the modafinil 200 mg daily. It took the edge off but still was sleepy. Had another sleep study spring 2014 and was changed to bipap but no help. I had a strict sleep schedule too. Moved back to my hometown in 2015. Due to insurance issues struggled for over a year. November 2016 had another psg and due to significant changes to my bipap they cancelled the mslt. My sleep doc was furious. In Dec I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and with treatment it us well controlled and I am still super sleepy. Finally had another pay and mslt a few weeks ago. The crappy doc I don't like said I just have EDS despite good bipap therapy. He also said I don't have cataplexy as it is only from strong positive emotions. Ha!! And he has never read my chart. Ugh.... So Here's the results of my tests:

PSG:

Sleep efficiency 92.4%

Sleep onset 0.4 minutes

Rem latency 80 minutes

N1 3.3%

N2 57.2%

N3 11.6%

Rem 27.9%

Arousals: 135 total majority in nrem.

Mslt:

No sorems

Mean sleep latency 6.65 minutes

Most of the time went from awake to n2 then bounced between n1 and n2

I did have a heart Cath 2 days before this and was given valium to relax me for it. Not sure if that one dose could affect the mslt.