College students/20-somethings..

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 Miss Jens

Miss Jens

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 January 2008 - 11:24 PM

Hi, I'm a 24-year-old female graduate student and I was recently diagnosed with Narcolepsy w/o Cataplexy. Being so tired and always needing to sleep and nap really affected my relationships with friends, family, and significant others. They (and I sometimes) thought I was just lazy, rebellious, or irresponsible. I'm also bipolar, which made the sleep diagnosis much more difficult to find.

I was wondering...How do other college students/grad students/20-somethings cope with this? It's hard because we are still young and recently out on our own, usually strapped for cash and insanely busy...Any input? Any stories to tell? Do you friends hear "narcolepsy" and immediately think "Deuce Bigalow" too??

#2 Lovemyhusband

Lovemyhusband

• Members
  • 175 posts
  • Interests:I love to read, spend time with my family and will always say yes to a trip to an amusement park!

Posted 27 January 2008 - 11:42 PM

Hello, I don't have any additional info to share with you but I wanted to let you know you are not alone. My husband has just been dx with N w/o cat. It is very frustrating to have people refer to the deuce bigalow movie so I hear you on that. We are about 10 yrs older than you are so I can tell you that you will find people who are understanding about your situation, and those who are less than understanding don't deserve your time. Good Luck, I am sure you will get into a "groove" now that you have an answer to the EDS and enjoy your life. smile.gif

#3 lizfromli

lizfromli

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 10:22 PM